CultureLAB is dedicated towards independent artists and small-medium companies of all disciplines, with a focus on the potential of performance. Artists are supported with fees, space, equipment, expertise and community.

The current/upcoming EOI is for creative developments taking place from July 2020 – June 2021. We are looking for projects at any stage of development. Arts House is composed of a variety of spaces, suitable for a range of purposes: research, rehearsal, technical experimentation and more. We encourage you to consider the full potential of working with Arts House’s producing and production resources. Our full-time production team are available to provide technical expertise and access to in-house technical equipment. CultureLAB artists receive an investment of $10,000, plus travel support, access consultation and other contributions.

For this round, we have two areas of focus in addition to general programming. The next Dance Massive will take place in March 2021, and so we are keen to hear from choreographers and makers interested to present in this context.

In addition, we are excited to announce a new partnership with Science Gallery Melbourne for an interdisciplinary research and creative development residency. This is an opportunity for artists to work across Arts House, and at ‘The Residency’ as part of the new Science Gallery Melbourne at The University of Melbourne. Over four weeks, selected artists will receive two weeks at Arts House, and two weeks in a space certified for biological experimentation (PC1Lab), and meeting with leading academics and scientists of the University of Melbourne.

Our EOI form asks you to outline an idea, and how you think it might progress towards presentation. If you are not already aware of Arts House’s program, or need a refresher, look at our past work here. There are also some FAQs here. The deadline is midnight, Thursday 29 August.

CultureLAB is supported by Creative Victoria and the City of Melbourne.

What are the dates for CultureLAB?
OPEN: Monday 15 July
CLOSE: Thursday 29 August midnight

Have more questions? Give us a call on 03 9322 3720 or send us an email.


Frequently asked questions:
CultureLAB 2020-2021 Callout and FAQs.

CultureLAB artists 2019–20
Arts House invited CultureLAB expressions of interest for the financial year 2019–20 from 6 August until 6 September 2018. From the expressions of interest received, and based on excellent fit and affinity with Arts House programming and thematics, we invited selected artists to meet with us to further discuss their projects or ideas. Our priority focus was on independent, new and emerging artists.

  • Emily Parsons-Lord – Development: we drive so fast it feels like falling (working title)
  • Mike Bianco – Free+Eco Oyster Bar
  • Roberta Rich and Sista Zai Zanda – Afro-podes: Reimagining African Archives
  • Michele Lee – How do I let you die?
  • Rawcus and Jackson Castiglione – Life Cycle
  • Keg de Souza – (untitled)
  • Amala Groom, Ian Sinclair and Dale Collier – Lost without You
  • Talya Rubin and Too Close to the Sun – At the End of the Land
  • Emma Hall – Hurricane


Read more about each of the CultureLAB artists and projects from 2017/2018 here and the 2019/2020 projects here.


CultureLAB artists 2018–19
Nana Biluš Abaffy; Zoey Dawson and Romanie Harper; Arlene de Souza aka TextaQueen; Keith Deverell; Alex Kelly; Shian Law; Lilian Steiner; Bagryana Popov, Majid Shokor; Lara Week; Sarah Aiken; Luke George; Thomas E. S. Kelly; and Ian Sinclair

Artists-in-Residence 2018
Kamarra Bell-Wykes; Marco Cher-Gibard; Samira Farah; and Areej Nur

Listening Room Residencies 2018
Ellen van Neerven; Chamber Made, with Tamara Saulwick; and Alisdair Macindoe

Seed Funding
Ngioka Bunda-Heath; Natasha Jynel; Aseel Tayah; and Jennifer Tran