What's On

The Secret Noise

Ensemble Offspring by Damien Rickertson

Presented in Season 2 2016

Presented by Arts House & Melbourne Festival

7.30pm, Fri 14 Oct
2pm & 7.30pm, Sat 15 Oct
75 mins

Arts House
521 Queensberry St,
North Melbourne


Image result for Wheelchair accessible
Wheelchair Accessible

Show Program:
PDF version
Word version

Not all music was made for public consumption.

The Secret Noise takes you under the veil to explore the realm of secret music. From sacred forms of ceremonial music and legally extinguished compositions, to ‘backmasking’ (playing an LP backwards to reveal a subliminal, satanic message), private love songs, and the proliferation of personal music players, Ensemble Offspring poetically and playfully explore the threshold of music-making as a public and private exchange.

Staged throughout Arts House, audiences will be guided through, and seduced by, a series of surreal, intimate scenes that hover somewhere between music, dance and live installation.

Composer Damien Ricketson’s striking, other- worldly soundscape, in which he combines traditional instruments with fantastical fricative objects and whirling devices of his own design, is beautifully realised by musicians alongside a cast of dancers and an actor.

A pioneering and genre-bending force in Australian new music, Sydney-based Ensemble Offspring’s recent collaborators include fellow free radicals Mike Patton, Speak Percussion and composer-inventor Jon Rose. Virtuosic and visceral, The Secret Noise continues the ensemble’s exploration into emerging music practices, inviting us in as voyeur and accomplice.

Concept & Composition:
Damien Ricketson
Carlos Gomes
Devising Performers:
Narelle Benjamin (dancer) Katherine Cogill (dancer) Katia Molino (actor) Jason Noble (clarinet) Claire Edwardes (percussion/artistic director) Bree van Reyk (percussion) Hamish Upton (percussion) Fausto Brusamolino (lighting design)

Supported by – The Secret Noise was created with the support of the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body; the City of Sydney; and the University of Sydney.
Image by – Heidrum Lohr