What's On

Interactive public artwork
Presented by Arts House & Melbourne Fringe

Thurs 13 – Sat 29 Sep
FREE

Specific times and locations listed below

1pm  – 5pm, Thurs 13 Sept
1pm – 5pm, Fri 14 Sept
11am – 3pm, Sat 15 Sept
S
tate Library Victoria (Forecourt)
328 Swanston Street
Melbourne

5pm-9pm, Wed 19 Sept
Queen Victoria Market
Corner of Therry & Queen Streets
Melbourne

11am – 3pm, Fri 21 Sept 
11am – 3pm, Sat 22 Sept
Bourke Street Mall (Next to the Information Booth)
Bourke Street
Melbourne

4pm – 8pm, Thurs 27 Sept
4pm – 8pm, Fri 28 Sept
Errol Street

(Outside Arts House)
North Melbourne

Accessibility:

Image result for Wheelchair accessibleImage result for auslan interpreted performance symbol
Wheelchair accessible, bi lingual offering

Please note the following sessions will have host Jodee Mundy present, who is bi lingual in English and Auslan:

Friday 14 September

Friday 21 September

Saturday 22 September

Thursday 27 September

Cancellation notice:
Due to extreme wet weather conditions, the Saturday 15 September showing of Capitalism Works for Me! True/False has been cancelled. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused but encourage you to view this work at one of the other times listed above.

Completing an Australian journey that began at this year’s Festival of Live Art, Capitalism Works for Me! True/False returns to Melbourne for the Fringe Festival. At changing locations throughout the Festival, a cheerful retro billboard sign prompts you to cast your vote – does capitalism work for you?

US artist–activist Steve Lambert invites visitors to evaluate and talk about the economy and how it might be better. Wired for instant update, Lambert’s electronic scoreboard registers visitors’ votes via a panel with two buttons: True and False.

We talk about capitalism constantly, using terms like ‘job creation’ or ‘the business climate’, and discussing whatever ‘crisis’ is at hand – housing, financial, employment. We focus on the symptoms – but why not take the leap and discuss the problem itself?

Optimistic or downbeat? Confident or cynical? Ideas for reform? Capitalism Works for Me! True/False is a provocation and a conversation. Now’s your chance to have a say.

“What I have really liked about this project is it’s about conversation and questioning what you think.” Festival of Live Art participant, 2018

Creator:
Steve Lambert

Image by – Bryony Jackson